Angina

Near the end of 2020 my arthritis improved and I decided to do my first run. After about 500 metres up a slight hill I fell over breaking my thumb in the process. I wasn’t sure if I had tripped or fainted. I was acutely aware of the pavement centimetres in front of my face.

I walked a lot, 10k most days. Occasionally I’d experience a chest pain, a pain difficult to describe but one that feels disconcerting. I’d have to sit down and with time it would pass.

When my classes moved online I moved to a fishing port, Matosinhos in what had been an Airbnb.

On fine sunny days I swam in the sea. I ran intervals on the beach but could only run 30 seconds before my chest hurt. I tried different walking speeds and quickly determined that once my heart rate got to a > 100bpm I was likely to experience chest pain.

I visited the private hospital CUF and was referred to a cardiologist. Ultrasound on my heart revealed no problems, ECG no problems, ECG stress no problems. A 24 ambulatory heart rate monitor showed worrying blood pressure spikes.

Occasionally I would awake in the night with a chest pain. This concerned the cardiologist. He recommended a CT scan, where iodine is injected into the blood and scan done. In this case it was an impressive looking Hitatchi CT machine.

The cardiologist showed me the 3d image of my heart and pointed out the calcification and fat deposits. They would contact me soon.

I was prescribed new medications including emergency use nitro glycerin. I’m scared of 0300. Forty years ago I had a girl friend, a nurse that worked nights in Tooting Hospital. I always remember here saying patients died at 0300.

With iodine still being cleared from my system by drinking water I awoke at 0300 with chest pain. When the pain didn’t go away I took my first nitro glycerine tablet. Minutes later the pain receded and I could sleep. This repeated at 0500.

That morning the cardiologist called me and said that next time I experience chest pain I should call 112. A heart attack with my symptoms would be unrecoverable.

I decided a better plan was to Uber to ER where I was assessed and admitted.

I was asleep in a reclining chair at about midnight and when my negative COVID result came through they admitted me. I slept until 0630. The wards are for one or two persons. I’m sharing with xx year old xxxx. I haven’t spoken to her. I still don’t know anything. They gave me tea, biscuits, and water when I arrived. Smart blue pyjamas too.